Pieter B. Coeymans

Elementary School

66 Church Street

Coeymans, NY 12045

518.756.5200 ext.4000

 

Hakim Jones, Principal

orange bar bullet News Headlines

Our Mission is to be an exemplary 21st–century learning community whose graduates are well prepared to excel in a complex, interconnected and changing world.

 

Check out the latest PTO school newsletter (PDF)

Here are a couple of pictures from the start of the 2014-15 school year

PBC students start new school year!PBC students enjoy start of school year

 

PBC summer program took students to new heights!Student photo

During the summer program, Mrs. G. from the Ravena Library taught students about airplanes, how they fly, and even taught them how to make paper airplanes (see photo).

Some students also took a walking field trip to the library and got a tour of how the library is set up. The students learned about pirates, insects, ocean life. They made crafts, read on computers, and played reading games on iPads. It was a fun-filled four weeks of learning!

The teachers this summer were Mrs. Boehm, Mrs. Manning, Ms. Ranous and Mrs. Brown. Students also worked with Mrs. Stumbaugh and Mrs. Lukens.

Click on the image above to enlarge it.

Supply lists ready for the 2014-15 school year

As September 4 draws closer every day, families and students will begin thinking about the supplies they will need for class in the 2014-15 school year.

Here are the supply lists for the upcoming school year - [read more]

Student photoGirls spearhead fundraiser for Coxsackie student fighting cancer

Maeve Newkirk and her third-grade Pieter B. Coeymans friends - Holly Macera and Gabrielle Stacey - are just like Kamryn Slater, a 7-year-old second-grader from neighboring Coxsackie.

They like to run and play. They want to have fun. They enjoy being outside and doing what little girls do every day.

But these three students, and some other friends, have given up their time for a bigger need. They have been spending a lot of time cutting and folding paper to make bright, colorful “Kitty Bookmarks” during their lunch times and recess at PBC.

They are selling the bookmarks for 50 cents each to help Kamryn, who was diagnosed last month with Wilms' Tumor, a type of kidney cancer typically found in children. There are about 500 cases in the U.S. every year. [read more]

PBC students focus on the habitats around us during Habitat DayStudent photo

For more than 10 years, PBC students have taken a moment to better understand and appreciate the habitats - whether that means ticks, birds or woodlands - around us every day during their annual Habitat Day.

The day is devoted to learning about the different habitats that exist in our community, state, country, or in some instances other parts of the world, said teacher Tony Lintner, who coordinated the event. "Our objective is to celebrate the accomplishments of the PBC community, staff, and students that have helped to create our schoolyard habitat," he said. [read more]

Studnet photoLearning Fair, Family Math Night and Art Show draws hundreds of families

Space on the walls and in the hallways was at a premium as hundreds of students and families turned out to check out student work and displays, get some exercise, challenge their minds and have a good time at the Learning Fair, Family Math Night and Art Show on April 10.

There were activities for children of all ages, including displays of amazing art work, shooting basketballs, bowling, math games and physical activities. [read more]

Fifth graders at PBC experience the outdoors on snowshoes and connect with natureStudent photo

When fifth-grade students came to physical education class, they probably didn't image they'd be strolling through the outdoors in snowshoes and see deer beds, animal tracks or a trapped rabbit.

But that's exactly what happened when the students explored the outdoors in class with teacher Diane Conover.

"The focus is obviously on lifetime fitness and we also include a science lesson by having them look for tracks and identify them," said Conover. "We saw four deer beds (Deer beds are oval-shaped impressions left in the grass, leaves, or snow where deer have decided to lay down) and various tracks. We also saw a rabbit jump from its hole." [read more]

 

photo of Revolutionary War reenactment
photoshadow

EVENTS Calendar

Monday, September 15

PBC Book Fair (thru 9/19)

Tuesday, September 16

AWB Open House, Grades 1-2, 6:30 p.m.

PBC Open House, Grades 3-5, 6:30 p.m.

HS Recognition Awards, 6:30 p.m. at HS

Board of Education meeting, 7 p.m., HS

Thursday, September 18

AWB Open House, Grades 3-5, 6:30 p.m.

PBC Open House, Grades 1-2, 6:30 p.m.

Saturday, September 20

PBC PTO Bottle and Can Drive, 9-11 a.m.

Monday, September 22

AWB Fall Picture Day

Fall begins

Tuesday, Sept. 23

HS Open House, 6:30 p.m., HS

Wednesday, September 24

HS Class Color Spirit Day

Thursday, September 25

ROSH HASHANAH - NO SCHOOL

Friday, September 26

MS Picture Day

College Caravan for Seniors, 12:30-1 p.m., HS

Green and Gold Day, HS

Homecoming Weekend

Saturday, September 27

Homecoming Weekend Homecoming Dance, 7 p.m., HS

Friday, October 3

End of 5-week Interim Period (MS/HS)

AWB Apple Run (Rain date = Oct. 17)

PBC Cross Country Run

Saturday, October 4

Yom Kippur

Wednesday, Oct. 8

AWB PTA Meeting, 6:45 p.m.

PBC PTO Meeting, 6:30 p.m.

Thursday, October 9

Junior Class Ring Ceremony, 7 p.m.

HS Picture Day

Friday, October 10

Emergency Release Day (Students dismissed 15 minutes early)

AWB Habitat Day

Saturday, October 11

SAT Exam (8 a.m.-1 p.m., HS)

Monday, October 13

COLUMBUS DAY -- NO SCHOOL

Tuesday, October 14

AWB Recognition Awards, 6:30 p.m., AWB

Board of Education meeting (7 p.m., AWB)

Wednesday, October 15

PBC Picture Day

Saturday, October 18

PSAT Exam, 8:30 a.m.-11 a.m., HS

Monday, October 20

PBC Fundraiser goes home (runs thru 10-29)

*National School Bus Safety Week (Oct. 20-24)

Wednesday, October 22

AWB Scholastic Book Fair (thru 10-27)

Thursday, October 23

HS Fall Concert, 7:30 p.m.

Saturday, November 1

ESYO Repertory (Orchestra/String Ensemble), 4 p.m.

Saturday, November 2

Daylight Savings Time ends

Tuesday, November 4

Professional Development Day -- EARLY DISMISSAL (UPK to Grade 12)

Wednesday, November 5

GCMEA Fall All-County Music Festival (3-8 p.m.); Greenville HS

Friday, November 7

End of 1st Marking Period (MS/HS)

GCMEA Fall All-County Festival (3 p.m. rehearsal; 7:30 p.m. concert)

Saturday, November 8

PBC PTO Holiday Bazaar, 10 a.m. to 3 p.m.

Tuesday, November 11

VETERANS DAY -- NO SCHOOL

Wednesday, November 12

AWB PTA Meeting, 6:45 p.m.

PBC PTO Meeting, 6:30 p.m.

Friday, November 14

End of 1st Trimester, Marking Period -- UPK to Grade 5

Monday, November 17

(American Education Week runs thru Friday)

Tuesday, November 18

PBC Recognition Awards (6:30 p.m., PBC)

BOE meeting (7 p.m., PBC)

HS Re-take Picture Day

Wednesday, November 19

PBC "Hands On Science", 6 p.m.-7:30 p.m.

Thursday, November 20

Parent Conferences (All Grades)

Friday, November 21

NYSSMA Area All-State Festival, 1 p.m.-5 p.m.; Saratoga HS

Saturday, November 22

NYSSMA ASF (9 a.m. rehearsal; 2 p.m. concert; Saratoga HS)

Monday, November 24

Parent Conferences (Early dismissal UPK-8)

Tuesday, November 25

Parent Conferences (Early dismissal UPK-8)

Wednesday, November 26

NO SCHOOL -- THANKSGIVING HOLIDAY

Wednesday, December 3

AWB Grade 5 Band/Chorus Holiday Concert (7 p.m.)

Thursday, December 4

PBC Grade 5 Band/Chorus (7 p.m.)

NYSSMA Conference All-State Festival, Rochester (thru Dec. 7)

Tuesday, December 9

MS Recognition Awards, 6:30 p.m.

Board of Education meeting, 7 p.m. (MS)

PBC Holiday Book Fair (thru Dec. 11)

Wednesday, December 10

AWB PTA Meeting, 6:45 p.m.

PBC PTO Meeting, 6:30 p.m.

Grades 7-8 Holiday Concert, 7 p.m.  (HS)

Thursday, December 11

PBC 'Cookies with Santa', 6:30-8:30 p.m.

PBC Grades 2 & 4 Holiday Concert, 7 p.m. (HS)

Friday, December 12

End of 5-week Interim Period (MS/HS)

Middle School Drama Production, 7 p.m.

Saturday, December 13

Middle School Drama Production, 3 p.m. and 7 p.m.

Monday, December 15

HS Holiday Concert, 7:30 p.m.

Tuesday, December 16

AWB Grades 2 & 4 Holiday Concert, 7 p.m. (HS)

HANUKKAH (Begins at sundown)

Wednesday, December 17

Grade 6 Holiday Concert, 7 p.m.

Thursday, December 18

Alternate Concert Date (if 1 is canceled due to weather)

Monday, December 22

Alternate Concert Date (if 1 is canceled due to weather)

Wednesday December 24

Thursday, January 1

New Year's Day

NO SCHOOL

Monday, Jan. 5

Classes resume

Tuesday, January 6

Pre-K and Kindergarten Registration, 3-6 p.m. @AWB

Board of Education Meeting, 7 p.m., HS

Wednesday, January 7

Pre-K and Kindergarten Registration, 3-6 p.m. @AWB

Cafeteria and Fun Fair

Thursday, January 8

Pre-K and Kindgergarten Registration, 3-6 p.m. @PBC

Wednesday, January 14

AWB PTA Meeting, 6:45 p.m.

PBC PTO Meeting, 6:30 p.m.

Thursday, January 15

College Financial Aid Night, 7:30 p.m. (Parents of Juniors and Seniors)

Monday, January 19

Martin Luther King Jr. Day (observed)

NO SCHOOL

Thursday, January 22

MS/HS Winter Select Ensembles Concert, 7 p.m., HS

Monday, January 26

Regents Exams, 9-12; Students report for only exams (thru Jan. 29)

Friday, January 30

Second semester begins, MS/HS

Tuesday, February 3

Board of Education meeting, 7 p.m., HS

Thursday, February 5

Professional Development Day (early dismissal UPK-12)

Saturday, February 7

PBC PTO Bottle and Can Drive, 9-11 a.m.

Wednesday, February 11

AWB PTA Meeting, 6:45 p.m.

PBC PTO Meeting, 6:30 p.m.

Monday, February 16

Start of Winter Recess (thru Feb. 20)

Tuesday, February 24

Board of Education Meeting, 7 p.m., HS

Wednesday, February 25

In-person Continuing Education registration, 6:30-8 p.m., HS Aquatics Lobby

Friday, February 27

HS Drama Production, 7 p.m., HS

Saturday, February 28

HS Drama Production, 7 p.m., HS

 

 

 

 

 

Complete 2013-14 Calendar